I’m Not Doing Nothing, I’m Transitioning

whirlwind

Stillness at the centre of transition

When I think about transitioning, I think of change. I think of moving from one state of being into another state of being. And indeed there can be a heck of a lot of change happening when you go through a transition.

At the centre though, between the chaos of change that brings on that transition and the adjusting to your new state of being after that transition, there is stillness and waiting.

I think sometimes we forget how important this stillness is. We are so focused on doing, constantly moving. To sit in stillness and honour that centre point in transitioning is seen as being slothful, lazy, And we get impatient – Come on transition! Happen already!

I think this centre is the least acknowledged and the most sacred of the 3 stages in transitioning.

Recently I read something about butterflies. When it comes to making a life transition, these tiny creatures go through the most drastic of changes. They go from being a caterpillar, crawling along a leaf to a butterfly, flying amongst the flowers. In between, all we can see is the stillness of a chrysalis hanging from a twig. For us, looking on from outside that chrysalis, nothing seems to be happening.

Inside though!

Well, read it for yourself:

First, the caterpillar digests itself, releasing enzymes to dissolve all of its tissues. If you were to cut open a cocoon or chrysalis at just the right time, caterpillar soup would ooze out. But the contents of the pupa are not entirely an amorphous mess. Certain highly organized groups of cells known as imaginal discs survive the digestive process.

Once a caterpillar has disintegrated all of its tissues except for the imaginal discs, those discs use the protein-rich soup all around them to fuel the rapid cell division required to form the wings, antennae, legs, eyes, genitals and all the other features of an adult butterfly or moth.

Scientific American

Let yourself think on that for a moment. In that ultimate stillness, the caterpillar digests

it’s own body, turning into a glob of primordial goop. Then it rebirths itself from that goop into a butterfly. It sits in stillness trusting in its ability to become. No hurrying, no rushing. No lamenting this time of inaction while waiting for its transition to finish. No beating itself emotionally or verbally – ‘come on stupid caterpillar, become a butterfly faster and stop lollygagging! You’re wasting time when you could be flying about gathering nectar!’

No, it embraces this state of not-being and sits in the stillness of transition. Until it is ready to emerge fully formed from the chrysalis.

Today, honour yourself, and honour the sacred stillness at the centre of your own transitions.

 

7 thoughts on “I’m Not Doing Nothing, I’m Transitioning

  1. I’m also in a stage of stillness. I’m enjoying quiet evenings with my husband and pets, spending time reading, crafting and just being me. Most enjoyable!

  2. I really enjoyed this post. I had no idea of how a caterpillar actually transitioned into a butterfly. It is so amazing! I’m in a transitional position/stage myself at this point in time. Sometimes change is so hard to accept, especially when it is changes we do not want. Always, in the “dark time” of the year, I try to go within and seek what it is I need to change for the next turn of the wheel. This year, changes have been forced upon me and I am fighting them. Thank you for reminding me that I should trust and accept and just do the growth. I know these things but I am SUCH and Aries I try to push the changes in directions I want them to go.

    • Years ago I was told by someone who studied such things that people who are born with Sun in Aries were military commanders in a previous life. Which is why they want to be in command and control so much in this life.

      • OMG, probably so. I have one of those minds that loves to arrange things, give the orders then wait for others to carry them out. LOL I have little patience with laziness or what I call “stupidity”, not listening. I am a work in progress. FYI, I mentioned your readings on my blog post. I’ve been working on tiny goddess figures this past month. Prototypes are very rough but I like them. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

      • I’d love to see them. If you send me some images via email I’ll have a look and get back to you over the weekend.

        And thank you for mentioning the readings. 🙂

  3. Nice reminder. I’ve tended to keep moving to another release, another search, another practice without stopping to integrate and transition. This last couple of years of finally surrendering to health issues has also felt like it’s been a needed time to catch up to myself and let the huge amount of shifting I’ve done unfold.

  4. I really like your message here. I am hearing, “be patient, let change occur naturally”. I think that is a good lesson – transition can’t be forced, but is, rather, a process.

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

