Approaching Spellcasting

An integral part of being a witch is doing spell work. Being a witch includes an absolute belief in the effectiveness of spells. Why bother doing one if you don’t think it will do any good. Right?

Having said this though, a spell is not generally my first line of action when going about my day or dealing with all that life has put in my path. The majority of the time, mundane actions take less energy and less work that doing a spell.

So, while spellcasting in an integral part of my practice as a witch, it is also a rarity. I’m talking full blown, pull out all the bells and whistles, spellcasting here.

I don’t post actual spells that I have done, as I noted before when I talked about the First Spell I hever did. I will however

Fairy magic

Fairy magic

discuss how I approach spell work, and the steps that go into creating a spell.

I’ll elaborate on these steps in a moment, first I want to share some of the things I have come to understand about spells and spell work.

You get just as much out of a spell (and anything else in life actually) as you are willing or able to put into it.

This is a big reason why I encourage people to invest the time and energy into creating their own spells and not just copying word for word a spell written by someone else or put together in a little spell kit complete with candle, oil, and the words to say. Zero mental and emotional investment = zero outcome.

Spells don’t come with a Hollywood special effects team.

I have talked to many a witchilng who expects all the glittering lights, lightning flashes, and instant poof changes seen with the TV and cinema witches out of Hollywood. Nope, far from it. The vast majority of spells work behind the scenes and are very subtle. A chance encounter, walking down a different street, coincidence. You my even find yourself wondering if things would have come out the way they did even without the spell.

Many times a spell begins from the first step when you identify a need and begin to focus on the desired outcome.

Before gathering ingredients, Energies are being moulded and focused on creating the desired outcome. You may even notice circumstances lining up to bring your desired outcome before you’ve had a chance to do the spell.

Steps in Creating a Spell

Step 1: Identify a need

Have you tried dealing with it using mundane means? Or, do you know that this is something that needs a bit more oomph than you can give through non-magical means?

Step 2: Consider what I want to accomplish

I’ve done spells to find a place to live, spells to stop someone from spreading lies about me, spells for money, spells to have the justice service look favourably upon me.

Step 3: Consider how I want to do the spell

Witches have affinities for different methods of spellcasting. Some like working with candles, some with stones, some use herbs, some use words. Really, what matters here isn’t how other people do it, it’s how you find it most easy to focus your own power.

Since I don’t have a strong afinity for rocks and crystals, but do have an affinity for plants I tend to use herbs, spices, and essential oils in my spells. I may also sometimes use incense. I have even used my own menstrual blood.

As I consider what I want to accomplish, I also think about what will be the best way to create the spell. When I wanted to sever a handfasting befween myself and my ex-husband, I used candles and our handfasting cord. When I wanted to stop malicious attacks against me I used bread dough to create a small loaf representing the person.

Step 4: Gather tools and ingredients

It can take as little as a few minutes to as long as several days to get together all of the things I need to do a spell. Sometimes, I just stand in my kitchen staring at herbs and spices waiting for inspiration to strike. Other times, I find that what I need just comes into my head. I try to work as much as possible with items I already have on hand.

Step 5: Do the spell

Light the candles, if you want. Create a ritual circle, if you want (I may or may not create a circle). Call in any spirits, elements, non-corporeal beings, Deities you wish. I invite my Patron Gods and the elemental spirits to bear witness, but don’t generally ask them to do the work for me.

Also make sure to put in any disclaimers you feel necessary – nor harming anyone, for the highest good, etc. If I am doing a binding type spell, I will also add in the caveat that it won’t be activated unless the person continues to try to cause me or my loved ones harm.

Focus your words, your thoughts, your intentions on what you want to accomplish and release that intention into the world.

Step 6: Stay out of the way

When you plant a seed, you don’t go back every day to dig it up to check if it has sprouted yet. That’d kill the seed. Likewise, when you release a spell you don’t keep going back to see if it has worked.

You also don’t try to control how it works. Your focus is on the outcome, not on the steps getting to the outcome.

Of all these steps, this last one is usually the hardest.


Do you have anything to add? Do you approach spellcasting in a similar way, or do you do them compltely different?

What are your preferred ways of creating spells?

One thought on “Approaching Spellcasting

  1. Although there are a lot of forms of spellwork that I like, the most common I find myself doing is incorporating it into making meals, in combination with some candle magic. If it’s something particularly complicated, I have my rituals, but I’ve found working it into things you do daily to be particularly helpful.

    But in terms of how I plan them out, the above describes it relatively well. Find out what you need, consider the results, research/gather what you need, perform, and don’t poke at it, lest it become ineffective (or perhaps make it continue working when you no longer need it!).

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

