Do I look like a Faerie girl to you?

So, this week the Thursday talking point is to discuss my favourite faerie, fairy, tiny mythological winged creature.

And I’ve got to ask you. Given everything that I have written about over the past many years, do I come across as someone who works with the faeries?

No, I didn’t think so.

Cottingley Fairies

Not at least in the ways in which faeries are portrayed today. (Thank the Victorians for this.) The butterfly-flitting winged Cottingley Fairies famously portrayed in faked photographs by cousins Elsie Wright (1900–88) and Frances Griffiths (1907–86) are what most people think of when they think of fairy folk today.

It’s not that I don’t believe in earth spirits such as fairies. I just haven’t experienced them for myself and I have never had reason or inclination to try to work directly with them. Actually, it would be more accurate to say that while I don’t believe in fairies, I don’t disbelieve in them either. This goes into the realm of “I don’t have enough information to lean me one direction or the other.”

More power to those who work closely with fairies and fairy folk. It’s just not for me.

Nac Mac Feegle (The Wee Free Men)

Thinking back, I’ve never been the sort of person to work with this light and airy fairy energy. Not for me the pink princess in the tower waiting for her prince to rescue her. I am more closely aligned with the Nac Mac Feegle of author Sir Terry Pratchett’s DiscWorld. And I suspect if I tried to fit one of those wee buggers into a set of wings I’d be headbutted in the noggin for my troubles.

Once upon a time, the Little People or fairy folk were not seen as being the benevolent creatures we see today. Oh, one might do you a good turn but it as just as likely to spoil the milk or tie your reins in knots. Saucers of milk were left out as a way of appeasing the wee creatures and keeping on their good side.

I won’t say I will never work with Faerie Folk, because you can bet that not 2 days after making such as a statement I would find myself needing to do just that. I just have not found reason yet to work with them.

So favourite Faerie? I won’t say the Nac Mac Feegles as I suspect they’d be highly insulted at being compared to Tinkerbell.

Let’s just stick with saying I don’t have one.

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

