I’ve never seen a witchy movie

good witch

Does the ‘Wizard of Oz’ count as a witchy movie?

This week’s talking point is supposed to be all about what my favourite witchcraft or Pagan themed movie might be.

I’ve never seen any witchcraft themed movies though, and the few TV based series I watched I never really got into or liked.

Oh, I saw a few episodes of Charmed, and just found it silly. Couldn’t get into it at all. Frankly, I thought Sabrina and Bewitched (the original series) to be a lot more believable, and interesting.

But, movies on the big screen or made for TV movies, nope. I haven’t watched any of them.

So, I’m going to put it out to you, my readers.

What witchcraft themed movie or TV show have you seen? Did you like it?

Do you think movies like these help or hinder Pagans? Have you come across people who think witchcraft as it is portrayed in the movies is a true reflection of witchcraft as it is practised in the real world? How do you go about dispelling these myths and ideas?

Answers on a post card please. As always, feel free to agree and disagree with me and with everyone else. But do please make sure to be polite.

One thought on “I’ve never seen a witchy movie

  1. I’ve never seen a witchcraft or Pagan themed movie either, but I definitely did enjoy Sabrina the Teenage Witch (and named my cat after her…) when I was younger. At that age I didn’t really know I leaned more toward a Pagan path, so I never analysed it like that or considered it very deeply. I think it’s certainly enjoyable and sometimes really funny to enjoy Hollywood’s portrayal of witches, while not usually accurate, but I also feel that many people aren’t very open to understanding what witchcraft really means. It might be because of the media, and it might be because of other social biases they’re operating on, which is frustrating, but it’s also humanity. Being new to the Pagan path, I haven’t had this conversation with many people save my mom who was genuinely curious and really great about wanting to know, and I think I’d normally leave it out of conversation unless someone was genuinely and kindly curious.

    I’m so glad I’ve found your blog–it really makes the whole solitary-teen-spiritual-path-finding easier! 🙂

    Best wishes,
    Morgan

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

