Oh! The Humanity!

The Pagan Experience 2015

HumanityHow do you define “humanity”? What is your contribution to the collective space of humanity?

candle

Many flames create a whole

How does your spiritual path support this definition and contributions?

In considering this topic, I have been searching through my mind for how I define the word, “Humanity”. At it’s most basic humanity equals human beings. Every one of us, together, creates this thing we call humanity. But humanity is so much more than just that.

And where I find myself being drawn is towards the work of nursing pioneer, Dr Martha E Rogers. Her work as a nursing theorist greatly influenced my practice as a nurse when I was a nurse, and also the work I do now as a healer.

Rogers makes several assumptions in the Science of Unitary Human Beings, the first being that “the Human Being is a unified whole possessing an individual integrity and manifesting characteristics that are more than and different from the whole.” In other words, the whole is greater than the sum of its parts.

Now, substitute humanity for human being. “Humanity is a unified whole possessing an individual integrity and manifesting characteristics that are more than and different from the whole.”

This then is how I would define humanity but what is my part in this collective whole? Where is my contribution?

I exist. That is my contribution. Simply by being I have altered the whole. In the same way that every individual human who makes up the whole of humanity will change it. Some changes may be subtle, affecting just a few. The vast majority of people will have a small, subtle influence in changing humanity. The kind word, or harsh, at the right time. One simple act which may impact one other person. For others, their impact on humanity will be more far-reaching. Country leaders these days can impact not just their own country, but countries around the globe. Modern day heroes touch us and encourage us to strive for greater things.

I’m under no illusions on where I fall in this continuum. I am not a person who will have a great impact on thousands or millions of people at once. On the other hand, I know that a simple word spoken or written has impacted and influenced individual people, both positively and negatively.

Do I believe my worth as a human being and a contributor to the colletive humanity can only be measured in terms of the “good” things I do or the number of people I touch? No.

My worth as a human being, and as a piece of the collective wholeness known as humanity exists because I exist.

How does this influence my Pagan practice?

Knowing that my worth comes not from what I do, but from who I am.  This same holds true for every other person. Their worth comes not from what they do, not from what they can contribute, but because they are here in this world, at this time. Some may have a wider-reaching influence, but none has a greater or lesser importance. Not me, not the lady working in the shop, not the CEO of a company, and not the president of a country.

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

