Thursday Talking Point – a witchy podcast

Pagan headcovering

Tichel style Pagan head covering

I suggested that I would record a podcast answering questions for this week’s talking point, and here we go. I am hoping this will work. I’ve not done a podcast before, and may or may not do one again depending on how well this works.

I’ve listed the questions, and my answers below. Not word for word, I didn’t follow a strict script when speaking.

Click here to listen to the file (right click and save)

Do you follow any particular religious path? What is it? Are you part of any particular tradition? Can you share with us what that is?

I call myself a Pagan witch. While I have been part of formal traditions in the past, these days I consider myself to be mostly a fusion Pagan with a strong influence from the Gods of the British Isles. Just for fun, I will sometimes tell people I am the founder of a first-generation family Pagan tradition.

How long have you practiced witchcraft?

I first began exploring alternatives to the mainstream religions when I was in my early 20s. I was strongly influenced back then by 12 step groups, and also by the work of Edgar Cayce. Over time I came to realise that what I was doing and what I believed most closely correlated to Paganism. I have called myself Pagan and witch since around 1992/93, so about 23 years now.

Do you follow, or have you dedicated yourself to, any particular deities?

My Patron Deities are Herne and in recent years, Brigid. I have not however dedicated myself to Them. All due respect to those who have made that level of commitment, but it’s not for me.

I also don’t worship my Patron Gods. Honour them, yes. Worship, no. Nor do they expect it from me.

What type of crafting are you best at, or do you focus on the most? i.e. herbs, stones and crystals, candles, divining

My calling is to be a Healer. While I have a little bit of knowledge about herbs and aromatherapy my main focus of practice is on Energy Healing work. I have been a Reiki practitioner since 1993 and earned the Master-Teacher level in 1998. I incorporated intuitive and shamanic techniques for many years before actually doing a series of classes to become a shamanic healer in 2011.

I am also quite good at doing oracular readings using the Amulets of the Goddess. I find many times that the Amulets are useful when doing healing work, and in the past couple years I have begun merging shamanic journeywork when I meet with the Amulets for guidance.

Do you have a familiar?

No.

Do you have a craft name? Do you believe craft names should be kept secret, or can they be shared?

My craft name for 20 years has been Maedrona. It was given to me back in 1998 when I was initiated as a High Priestess and obtained Modron as a Patron Goddess.

I know that the time is coming when I will have a new craft name, but it has not yet been revealed to me.

Do you do curses?

There are times when I have made the decision to do curses or binding spells, when the situation was such that I thought such actions was the best thing to do. Always though I have done these with full acceptance of whatever consequences might come as a result.

Click here to listen to the file (right click to save)

If you’d like to make a comment, please do. Would you like more podcasts like this? (Maybe with better sound quality, but it’s the best I could do with what I have right now.)

How would you answer these questions if they were put to you? If you’re not Pagan, substitute the name of your own religious practice and see how you would answer them.

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

