Moon Sign in Sagittarius

Thursday Talking Point

Sagittarius2Many, many years ago I had an interest in astrology and set out to discover more about it. I even went so far as to try to work out how to calculate my natal chart. And this in the days before computer programs to do all the maths computations!

I don’t look at astrological charts nearly as often, though I did generate natal charts for all 3 of my sons when they were born. My own view is that an astrological natal chart provides a guide, or a blueprint, of potentialities in a person’s life. Over time, as we grow and have new experiences, we may be able to move through and overcome difficulties which may have been highlighted within a chart. Or, we may become stuck.

I think that, perhaps, it all depends on whether or not you see your natal chart as being an opportunity for learning, or an excuse to remain stuck.

There are several web sites which will calculate your chart for you for free. You can then either work on interpreting it yourself, or pay for a report to be sent to you. The downside to these reports is that they are generated by a computer, missing out on the human touch. I believe that there are nuances to a chart which a computer can miss as it is merely copying and pasting specific phrases relevant to a particular placement. So, if you are just looking for fun, go ahead and get a computer generated natal chart (This is what I did for my sons) but otherwise my recommendation is to seek out an experienced astrologer to generate and interpret a chart for you.

What’s your (Moon) Sign?

astrology natal chart

My Natal Chart

Today’s talking point is asking us to look at and discuss our Moon sign in our natal chart. Without looking it up, do you know what your Moon sign is? Here’s a harder question, can you tell us where it is located on your chart?

I can do the first. For the latter however, I had to look at my chart. I used Astrolabe to generate this chart.

I have Moon in Sagittarius, 27°52’51 in the 3rd house.

But what does this mean?

Moon in Sagittarius

Astrologer Richard Hills has written a very good overview of the significance of the Moon sign in a natal chart, so rather than repeat it all here I’d recommend going over there and having a good read.

Some phrases I have come across describing the person with Moon in Sagittarius:

  • You are likely to be innately optimistic, expansive and positive in your point of view.

Generally, yes. I do tend to go forward in life with an attitude that things will come together as they are supposed to do.

  • You are likely to have an innate need for variety and change.

Within reason, because I also need a great deal stability and routine. However, if I have that stability and routines in place, I can handle some flexibility, variety, and change within other areas of my life.

  • You are likely to feel most comfortable roaming free – exploring your world and expanding horizons wherever possible.

I much prefer exploring and expanding my horizons mentally over physically. Given a choice between traveling to another country, or reading about it, more often than not I’d rather read about it.

On the other hand, I did emigrate to a different country to live.

  • You may find you travel a lot, or seek work and situations that allow you contact with foreign places and cultures.

Living today makes this very easy to do as I have friends and acquaintances all over the world through the internet. I also had pen pals from far of countries when I was growing up.

  • This sign relates to the search for truth, and ultimately pursuit of wisdom. You are likely to find you have a need to feel that you are always learning or discovering something new.

Absolutely! I love exploring knowledge, and learning new things just for the sake of learning. I have to be careful in some areas of making sure that I don’t neglect practical work because I am focused too much on the theoretical.

Moon in 3rd House

“The third house represents understanding through information, and what we know as a result of interactions within our community. “Community” here means neighbours, siblings, short journeys, letters, news and rumours. This house rules our rational thought and conscious mind, memory, speech, early education and environment, writing and communication, dexterity and taken-for-granted skills, explorations, investigations, inquiry, and research of all kinds. Planets in the third house describe the quality and quantity of our mental and nervous energy.” – Book of Astrology

This page also goes on to say that “if the Moon is in the third house AND within 4° or 5° of the nadir, then it is said to be on the “dark side” of the fourth house, and it influence will be felt in the fourth as well as in the third house. The closer a third house Moon is to the nadir, the more it will be interpreted as though it were in the fourth house; when less than 3° from the nadir, a third house Moon expresses itself primarily—and eventually entirely—in the fourth house.” With my Moon sign at 27 degrees 52 minutes in the 3rd house I would say that it qualifies as being within 3 degrees of the 4th.

While the 3rd house corresponds to our interactions within community, the 4th is concerned with home and family, childhood experiences, and our ancestry. The 4th house is ruled by the Moon, so it’s placement at less than 3° from the nadir in my own chart would mean that this is an area of significance for me.

Add in the aspects of Sagittarius to the Moon in 3rd house/4th House ruling and you have a person who loves learning, and communicating that learning to others. Someone who thrives on discovering. But also someone who tends to communicate over a distance. For instance, by blogging.

Because of its placement in the chart, Moon in Sagittarius is the natural ruler over the 4th house pertaining to home and family. The significance here is that in my life I have moved far from my birth home, and while I do have contact with family it is via modern technology such as email, social media, and the like. I think it also significant here that my relationships with my family of birth were vastly improved after I was able to establish a bit of distance between us.

I also think one could say it was very typical of my Moon placement in Sagittarius that I spent a bit of time studying astrology, but never more than just superficially

Like I said at the beginning, my knowledge of astrology is minimal. I would love to hear how someone else with a greater understanding would interpret this placement.

What about you though? Care to share what you know about your own Moon Sign? Make a comment below.

One thought on “Moon Sign in Sagittarius

  1. I’ve always found this rather fascinating myself and I too went as far as learning the mathematics and chart reading etc it takes to make a natal chart. I got as far as figuring out the Ascendant and Descendant and used various software online to do the rest. I’d rather spend the time reading and learning and exploring all the meanings than to do all the math of course! But here is what I came up with: It’s rather lengthy… Moon in Gemini in the 7th House… This is what I’ve found in relation to this… (Although I don’t understand the Moon Aspects listed at the beginning, the rest was interesting and quite accurate.

    Moon 24°59′ Gemini, in House VII

    Moon Aspects
    Sun conjunction Moon orb +6°50′
    Moon opposite Neptune orb -6°13′
    Moon semi-sextile Mercury orb +0°17′
    Moon quintile Midheaven orb +0°11′
    Moon semi-square Jupiter orb -0°36′
    Moon inconjunction Ascendant orb +1°46′
    Moon conjunction Venus orb +10°11
    Moon trine Pluto orb -8°33′
    Planets: Moon

    The Moon represents instinctive reaction, unconscious predestination, everyday mood, sensitivity, emotions, the feminine side of the personality, intuition, imagination. For a man, she represents his mother and later his wife, and his relationship with women in general. For a woman, the Moon is almost as important as the Sun and the Ascendant. Her element is water, she is cold and moist, she rules Cancer, is in exaltation in Taurus and is in analogy with the stomach.
    She symbolizes the mother, wife, the crowd, the Moon is associated with birth and childhood. Tradition also matches her with the end of life, after Saturn the old age, it is thus customary to go back to one’s place of birth to die: the end of life meets the very beginning.

    Temperament : Lymphatic

    Characterology : Emotive, non Active and Primary type or Non-Emotive, non Active and Primary, Nervous or Amorphous type.

    Moon in Gemini
    On the day and at the time of your birth, the Moon was in the sign of Gemini. You easily adjust to all kinds of situations because your outgoing nature integrates the characteristics of your environment very quickly. You communicate your emotions, you share your pleasures, your joys… and your sorrows. Your lunar sign belongs to the Gemini-Sagittarius axis that is decidedly open on the external world. You display strong assimilation abilities and you readily adopt your entourage’s habits. Besides, your life setting does not necessarily have the stiff side that others may need to feel safe. You put up with rhythm changes and your balance is not upset by unforeseen events and contacts. On the contrary, you loathe solitude and you are very comfortable when you have to exchange and to relate to others. There is a danger that you very cautiously avoid: your adaptation capacity must not turn you into a chameleon and it is important that you pay due attention to your needs and your personal rhythms.

    Moon in House VII
    With the Moon in the 7th House, you feel that human relationships take shape naturally and do not need to be built. Linking up to the world is not a matter of reasoned and codified sociability, but of sensitivity. You get along well with the people whom you feel are trustworthy a priori. The ideal partner for you is a person who resembles you, and whose sensitivity is like your own in terms of subtlety and complicity. Within your couple, as well as in your associations, you totally blend in the other one. At times, your attitude is selective.

    Moon Dominant
    If the Moon is part of your natal chart’s planetary dominants, in astrology, you are said to be a Lunarian: the driving force behind your actions is mainly the pursuit of well-being and tranquillity. Your sensitive and romantic self lives on those periods of rest during which you let your imagination wander at will. This is your way of finding inspiration and balance. Nothing is allowed to disturb your feeling of fulfilment and security within a harmonious cell, be it a family or a clan. More than other people, the Lunarian is attached to those moments during which one forgets one’s worries and lets oneself cast adrift aimlessly, with no other goal than to be lulled into an ambiance, a situation, or a perfect moment. Many people do not understand such absences and their meaning, which is to regain strength. These people readily describe you with such unflattering terms as apathy and nonchalance. Never mind! Some inspirations require surrendering as well as striking a balance derived from alternate action and passivity. Your qualities are expressed to the fullest in situations which demand familiarity and privacy. Your capacities to respect and blend into your environment is at least as valuable as some other people’s aggressive dispositions. However, you are well-advised to avoid indolence and renunciation out of laziness or indifference.

    Interpretation of the 24° Gemini symbolic degree
    “Surrounded by his favourite books, a middle-aged man reads and ponders at his desk.” (Janduz version)
    Withdrawn, studious, and generous character endowed with exceptional intellectual capacities and vivid imagination. One is attracted to spirituality and research and pays little attention to worldly riches. Success can be achieved in ancient and modern science, literature, or education.

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

