Modron: Welsh Mother Goddess

Modron

Modron

Modron first came to me back in 1998 when I was initiated as a priestess in the coven group that I was part of back then. She came at a time when I was rediscovering my own femininity and, while I didn’t know it at the time, was about to begin on the greatest adventure of my life.

I had been having urges and thoughts for some time that I needed to move east. Little did I know just how far that move would take me when it came. Over 4000 miles.

I moved from eastern Kansas to London, UK. I got married. And after several years of trying, had 2 more children. Since that move in 1998 I have been a stay at home wife and mother. In 2013, I became a single mother once again. Modron is still with me as I stand on the cusp between motherhood and croning.


The Mabinogion

Modron in Welsh Mythology

Mention of Modron is made in the The Mabinogion where she is the mother of Mabon, who was stolen from her when he was 3 days old. He is rescued from his imprisonment as a young man by Culhwch and Arthur. Culhwch must find him in order to be able to hunt the ‘Twrch Trwyth‘.

Washerwoman by the River, 1860

Washerwoman by the River, 1860
Framed Art Print

Guigou, Paul…
Buy at AllPosters.com

The Washer at the Ford
In the old north to Llanferres in Clwyd at a place known as Rhyd y Cyfarthfa (The Ford of Barking) every evening the local dogs gather to bark at some unknown fear. No man dares go near the place, save Urien himself who ventures out to seek the cause of the dogs’ barking. But when he got there he saw nothing but a woman washing at the ford. Urien seized her and had his will of her. However, instead of berating him she blesses his arrival, saying that she had been cursed to wash at the ford until she conceived a child by a Christian man. She names herself as the daughter of Afallach, ruler of the Isle of Avalon which is the land of the dead in Welsh mythology, and tells Urien to return upon the year’s end where she will present him with a son. This he did and received a boy, Owein and a girl, Morfudd.

Modron in Gallic Mythology

Matrona and son

Matrona and son

Dea Matrona is mentioned by the Romans in their texts on the Celts living in Gaul though they frequently refer to her as Deae Matronae, triple Goddess figures seen carrying baskets of fruit, cornucopias, and babies. As such She is a Goddess of fertility, both animal and agricultural, and the “Great Mother”.

The Romans mention many sanctuaries at the source of Gallic rivers. One honouring Matrona is found at the source of the river Marne.

 

 

Modron as Goddess of the Harvest

Modron as Goddess of the Harvest

Learn more about Modron

Modron
Modron: a Cymric, Brythonic and Gaulish Goddess, also known as Matrona (Divine Mother)
Britannia Celtic Goddess
Modron, Celtic Goddess of Motherhood
Welsh Deities
Reference to Modron

Previous writing

Modron – My Favourite Goddess (Thursday Talking Point)

 

4 thoughts on “Modron: Welsh Mother Goddess

  1. Pingback: Modron – My Favourite Goddess | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  2. Pingback: Covering My Hair as a Spiritual Practice | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  3. Pingback: My Gods Don’t Want Me Weak | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  4. Pingback: What’s in a Name? | Writings of a Pagan Witch

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

