Images of Air

Thursday’s Talking Point – Images of Air

In my mind, air is represented by the wind blowing across my cheek, by birds flying over head, clouds in the sky. I associate it with the Direction East here in the UK.

When I lived and practised my Pagan religion in the American State of Kansas though, I associated Air with the South. This was because the very name, Kansas, is taken from the Kanza Native American tribe and when translated means “People of the South Wind”. Anyone who has ever felt a strong summer breeze coming up from the south while standing out on the prairies of Kansas will know exactly why this fits.

People of the South Wind is also one of my favourite songs from the 70s rock group, Kansas.

 

I have compiled some of my favourite Images of Air. Some were found over at Wikimedia and have been credited as such.

Others, I created myself using a really cool Interactive Art program I found a few weeks back called Silk, then modified using a free photo editor I rather like called Photoscape.

I will feature some of the mandala images I have created using silk weave in a future post.

 

 

Aquarius

Aquarius

 

Wind Turbines By London Rachel, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Wind Turbines
By London Rachel, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Mountain sylph See page for author [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Mountain sylph
See page for author [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Libra

Libra

The Obsequies of an Egyptian Cat  A priestess offers gifts of food and milk to the spirit of a cat. On an altar stands the mummy of the deceased, and the tomb is decorated with frescoes, urns of fresh flowers, lotus blossoms, and statuettes. The priestess kneels as she wafts incense smoke toward the altar. In the background, a statue of Sekhmet or Bastet guards the entrance to the tomb. Source: Wikipedia, in public domain.

The Obsequies of an Egyptian Cat
A priestess offers gifts of food and milk to the spirit of a cat. On an altar stands the mummy of the deceased, and the tomb is decorated with frescoes, urns of fresh flowers, lotus blossoms, and statuettes. The priestess kneels as she wafts incense smoke toward the altar. In the background, a statue of Sekhmet or Bastet guards the entrance to the tomb.
Source: Wikipedia, in public domain.

 

Incense smoke Image by NanLT made using silk weave and photoscape

Incense smoke
Image by NanLT made using silk weave and photoscape

 

Feathers  By Greg Tee (originally posted to Flickr as Feathers) [CC-BY-2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Feathers
By Greg Tee (originally posted to Flickr as Feathers) [CC-BY-2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Fairy magic By none listed, authors were John Strange Winter, Frances E. Crompton and Mrs. Molesworth [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Fairy magic
By none listed, authors were John Strange Winter, Frances E. Crompton and Mrs. Molesworth [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Feather in flight By Louise Docker from sydney, Australia (Solo Flight) [CC-BY-2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Feather in flight
By Louise Docker from sydney, Australia (Solo Flight) [CC-BY-2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Gemini

Gemini

 

Fairy kite By aussiegall from sydney, Australia (fairies kitesUploaded by russavia) [CC-BY-2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Fairy kite
By aussiegall from sydney, Australia (fairies kitesUploaded by russavia) [CC-BY-2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Fairies dancing on flower  Image created by NanLT using silk weave and photoscape

Fairies dancing on flower
Image created by NanLT using silk weave and photoscape

 

Alchemical Air

Alchemical Air

 

 

What images and symbols do you associate with the Element of Air?

2 thoughts on “Images of Air

  1. Thank you for writing about Air. The element for me is breath. It is life essence and makes me think of soul things and I need to try harder to connect with wisdom today…the moon is full, my feminine chemistry is raging…I can feel the weaving craft of my mind becoming dark and wicked! Deep breath!!

    • Breathing is always good. When I have students in the craft, one of the first things I teach is that we are the Elements. We do not have to look outside ourself for Air as it is our breath.

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

