A Chicken in My Pot

It’s Kitchen Witch Wednesday!

Since I’ve been cooking for just myself in recent months I don’t often buy a whole chicken, but I had a coupon for £1.50 off a whole free range bird. Now, what to do with it! Because while I can get lots of meals out of this bird, I don’t want to get bored eating nothing but chicken for the next week.

To start, I put the whole chicken in my slow cooker and turned it on high. This allowed me to go about my day, and even go out for a few hours, while it happily cooked at home. Added bonus: chicken stock!

Meal 1:

enchilada

Picture by NanLT

Chicken Enchiladas, my way

Ingredients:

  • Meat from 1 breast and thigh
  • 2 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 mushrooms, chopped
  • 3 rashers streaky bacon, chopped
  • 50 gm butter
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 teaspoon chipotle chilli and paprika paste
  • 2 heaped tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 liter milk
  • grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tin kidney beans in chilli sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 6 large tortillas

Method:

  1. Heat the butter and oil in a pot and add the bacon. Let it cook down until crispy. Add in the onions and mushrooms, cook until softened.
  2. Stir in the chipotle chilli paste.
  3. Add the flour and stir constantly for 2 – 3 minutes to let the flour cook down.
  4. Gradually add the milk, stirring it in completely each time, until it reaches a desired consistency. You’re aiming for a medium-thick sauce as it will loosen up further with the addition of the tomatoes and beans.
  5. Add in the tins of chopped tomatoes and beans, and about a half cup of grated cheese. Stir to mix. Taste, then season with salt and pepper. If you’d like a bit more heat, add some dried chilli flakes or a good dash of chipotle Tabasco seasoning.
  6. Chop the chicken into 1/2 inch cubes.
  7. Butter a large casserole dish
  8. Place 1/6 of the chicken into each tortilla, spoon a bit of the sauce into each, and roll up. Place in a single layer in the casserole dish.
  9. Pour the remaining sauce over the tortillas and grate more cheese over the top.
  10. Bake in a hot oven for 45 – 55 minutes, until it is hot and bubbling.

This recipe can serve 3 – 4, so will provide several nice meals for me.

Plans for the rest of the chicken include a chicken pie and a nice chicken soup. Both of which will also provide me with 3 or 4 hearty meals. That’s my week of meals sorted.

All of these meals can be easily frozen as well.

One thought on “A Chicken in My Pot

  1. Meal number 2 –

    I have made a chicken soup using chopped veggies – carrots, potatoes, and swede (rutabaga), leeks, green beans, and mushrooms. For herbs I used dried thyme and sage, and I seasoned it to my taste with salt and pepper.

    Once cooked, I thickened the broth with a bit of cornflour. Then I used a slotted spoon to remove about half of the mix which I placed in a casserole dish.

    This I have covered with a double layer of puff pastry. Okay, it’s an indulgence, but I’ve not had puff pastry for ages. The double layer is something we tried on a whim many years ago and liked so much, I’ve continued. This is because I like soggy pastry, but I also like it to be flaky. The bottom layer stays soggy, the top layer puffs up is lovely. And everyone is happy!

    Meal number 3

    The soup still in the pot will be stretched out with a pack of mixed split peas, lentils, and barley.

    So, 1 chicken that cost me about £9 and I’ll get at least 10 meals out of it. That’s what I call a bargain!

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

