Who am I?

Thursday’s Talking Point

Today the talking point is my choice, so I’ve decided to focus on the subject which has been most on my mind these past many months.

Who Am I?

A lot of the work I have been doing lately has focused on this one single question. Am a defined by what I do, by who I am with? Am I the labels put on me by others? Or only those I accept for myself? Am I all of this, or more?

On the recommendation of my friend, Heather over at Delusional Mom, I have started reading the book Life Is a Verb: 37 Days to Wake Up, Be Mindful, and Live Intentionally

Inside it are stories to read, and various action and writing assignments which the author encourages you to try for just 37 days.

One of the assignments is to set a timer for 3 minutes, then write about who you are for that time. At the end of the three minutes, set the timer and write again, leaving out anything mentioned in the first writing. And then do it a third time.

Once you have removed I am a mother, I am a wife, I am a daughter, I am a witch, I am a healer? What is left?

In 2012, I was left facing these very real questions. My children were no longer living with me (temporary, they are returning home this summer). I no longer had a husband, my father died and I was not able to return to the US for the funeral. Suddenly, I wasn’t a wife, I wasn’t a mother, I wasn’t somebody’s daughter. My religious practices were being questioned from every direction, both with regards to what they mean for me and in terms of how I am raising my children within these beliefs.

After all of this was removed, what was left? And I have been left with one very simple realisation.

I am, me.

All the rest, it’s just stuff.

I am more than the sum of the parts that have gone into defining who I am.

If you had to define who you are, what would you say? How would you define yourself if those things were removed?

 

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

