Lamb chops with mint

It’s Kitchen Witch Wednesday and I thought I’d share the tasty little dinner I cooked up for myself the other night.

I’m the only person in the family who really likes lamb, so I thought I’d take advantage of the situation (and a sale) and cooked myself up a couple of lamb chops with new potatoes and sweetcorn.

To start, I bought the lamb through a local butcher. I know they’re few and far between, and rather a rare breed, but if you do have a local, independent butcher in your area, do consider supporting them.

double lamb chops

Double lamb loin chops

 

Don’t these lamb chops look delicious!

I firmly believe that when you have a good ingredient, you don’t mess around with it. Something as gorgeous as this deserves simple cooking so that your focus is on the flavour.

MintTo cook these chops, I first finely chopped a handful of mint. Use fresh if you’ve got it, but I had a bag full of mint I’d put in the freezer recently so I used a handful of that.

I rubbed the chopped mint, and a bit of salt and pepper into both sides of each lamb chop. One of these is plenty for 1 person but I was feeling a bit piggy, and I do love lamb, so I fixed two of them for myself.

I then heated up my cast iron skillet until it was smoking and added a small amount of oil. Waited a minute, then carefully laid each chop into the skillet and left it alone! for about 3 minutes.

Don’t move it around, don’t just lift it up to take a peak. Let it cook.

After it had about 3 minutes, I flipped the chops to let the other side cook

Plate this up and serve it along side some new potatoes and a fresh, seasonal vegetable.

I didn’t make a sauce to go with this dish, figuring the butter with the new potatoes would be plenty. Besides which, as I said, good food doesn’t need a lot done to it and these lamb chops tasted as good as they looked.

 

For those who think everything needs a sauce…

A basic mint sauce

  • 1 large handful fresh mint leaves
  • 1 spoonful sugar
  • about 1/2 cup malt vinegar, give or take

Get yourself a really, really sharp knife and finely chop the mint leaves. Partway through chopping sprinkle over the sugar and keep chopping until it is really, really tiny.

Scoop this up into a small tumbler. We use an old scotch glass.

Pour over enough malt vinegar to fill the glass about halfway.

Add a bit more sugar if it needs it.

Stir.

Stir just before spooning some of this over your chop. It also goes really well over roast lamb, new potatoes, and fresh veggies.

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

