Witch View with Mara Xanu

Mara XanuYour name: Mara Xanu

Do you follow any particular religious path? What is it? Are you part of any particular tradition? Can you share with us what that is?

My path is Asatru but I started off as a wiccan but couldn’t find my path in it anymore. I follow the northern Gods and incorporate old Dutch deities into Asatru itself.

How long have you practiced witchcraft?

For over 13 years now (I started aged 14).

Were you born a witch, or did you become a witch? At what point did you know?

I was born a witch but my parents are not witches. Ever since I was really young (the earliest I can remember I was 6) I have been seeing stuff others couldn’t see and offering to other Gods and Goddesses then the one. I had spiritual guides aged 6 and up and used protection spells during that time. It all clicked together when I was 14 when I read about wicca. It has been a religion I have followed for many years until I could no longer tell myself that this was my path. I am a Dutch witch and need to follow the path of my own land.

Do you follow, or have you dedicated yourself to, any particular deities?

I have not dedicated myself to any particular deity. I feel a strong pull towards Ostara (it’s that season again) and Nehalennia. I see Wodan as a teacher who wants me to learn as much as possible.

What type of crafting are you best at, or do you focus on the most? i.e. herbs, stones and crystals, candles, divining

I am an empath so my power lies in helping people. With my hands I can take away pain and relax people’s minds. I do deviate and know my way with tarot but I don’t use it as much, I love fire/smoke as a way to deviate because I can open my mind and let it roam. Next to that I do protection spells for those who need it.

Do you celebrate the Sabbats? All or just some of them?

I celebrate blots. It is like honouring the Gods by bringing a toast to them. Yule and Ostara are festivities that I absolutely love!

Books! How many books about witchcraft do you own? Have you written any of them?

Do you really want me to count????? I had to buy another bookcase for them LOL. I think about 40. I haven’t written any books.

What have you been doing recently that is craft related?

I did a protection charm for a dear friend.

Magical and mundane life. Are they kept separate or are they combined?

They are completely combined. I am not your typical witch in appearance so people don’t notice. When I feel that I can help someone by using just a touch of magic then I will.

Are environmental issues important to you? What are you doing or how have you adjusted your life and your practices in response to these issues?

I try to think before I buy stuff so I won’t throw them away as quickly. I use public transportation and try to keep the temperature in my home as low as possible.

Do you have a craft name? Do you believe craft names should be kept secret, or can they be shared?

I do have a “craft name”. I do share mine with the world more then my normal name. It is the only way to protect my spiritual path. I hate being harassed for my religion.

If you have children are you raising them in the craft?

I don’t have children but if I would have them I would raise them within the boundaries of my own religion. They have to decide for themselves if they want to do anything with seidh (northern witchcraft) or the want to follow a different path.

Do you wear, or not wear, any particular clothing or covering? Do you wear this all the time or only when doing magical work, or a bit of both?

I wear a headscarf. Right now I wear it when I am at home and during religious and witchy stuff. I want to wear it fulltime and am in the process of getting the courage to do so. For me the headcovering is reminding me of my own power and of the Gods and Goddesses above me.

What are your views on ethics in witchcraft? Do you follow the 3-fold law or the Wiccan Rede?

No, I do believe in karma. I believe that someone when attacked must not stand like a victim but fight back like a warrior. I can’t stand behind the Wiccan Rede as it is written there that you shall harm none.

What is something you know now that you wish you had known when you first identified as a witch?

That I AM normal and not a freak ;).

Name one ritual tool you just wouldn’t want to do without?

None

Is there anything else you would like to tell the world?

Don’t be scared of us, we are normal people with a little bit extra.

  • Witch View (writingsofapaganwitch.wordpress.com)
I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

