I Want to be Like Granny Weatherwax

Pagan Blog Project 2012, G is for…

There are many good authors, and too many not so good, helping to educate people about witchcraft and Paganism in the world.

So many books to choose from  when I am asked about which is my favourite, or who is my favourite author. And I will admit to owning a fair few of those books.

Granny Weatherwax as she appears in The Pratch...

Granny Weatherwax as she appears in The Pratchett Portfolio, illustrated by Paul Kidby (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If you ask me though what author has influenced me most as a witch, it won’t be the words of Grimassi or Buckland. It won’t be anything from Llewellen or Capall Bann. No, the author who has influenced me most is fiction writer, Terry Pratchett. And the character who has provided the greatest influence is Granny Weatherwax.

Mistress Esmerelda Weatherwax is a no-nonsense kind of witch. She’s mentally strong, confident, and knows her own mind. She doesn’t take any crap from anyone, nor does she suffer fools.

When it comes to spell casting and witchcraft she is hands down the wisest woman I’ve ever known. She reminds me very much of some of the Elder Witches I have had the privilege of meeting over the years.

The biggest lesson for any witch to learn is how not to use a spell. Granny teaches this lesson very well indeed. She knows when spell casting is needed, when it isn’t, and most important of all, when a bit of headology is the best option.

You don’t need to turn a man into a frog, when it is so much easier to make him think he’s been turned into a frog. And that, is headology.

 

“Any fool could be a witch with a runic knife,
but it took skill to be one with an apple corer.”
~Terry Pratchett, Carpe Jugulum

9 thoughts on “I Want to be Like Granny Weatherwax

  1. Reading more Terry Pratchett is on my to do list… *sigh* I completely agree in that learning when and when not to do spells in a hugely important skill for any Witch to learn! I’ve always been very conservative when it comes to spell casting, I find that I can generally achieve the results I want in easier ways.
    Thanks for a great post 🙂
    Wren x

  2. Yes, yes, yes!
    I love Pratchett and the witches.
    And if a New-to-the-Trade would ask me what to read, quite a few of TP books will be among them.

  3. Pingback: PBP – Favorites of Week 14 | Créations Jessy

  4. Pingback: Wisdom from Folklore | Kali: The Story of Death | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  5. Pingback: Talking Point: The Athame | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  6. Pingback: If You Give a Witch a Book… | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  7. Pingback: Book Review: Burning Water by Mercedes LAckey | Writings of a Pagan Witch

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

