F is for… Family Traditions

This is my first entry for the Pagan Blog Project as I have joined it a few weeks in.

When asked about what Pagan or witchcraft tradition I follow I will sometimes say that I am part of a first-generation family tradition group. Do I expect that our children will carry on the traditions my husband and I are setting in this generation? Possibly, you never know.

When my oldest son was a child, and I was in the first half of my first decade as a Pagan, I was asked if I was raising my son in my beliefs. The unspoken premise being maybe it was okay for me but shouldn’t I be raising my child in a “real” religion? (This same person knowing I was Pagan asked me on another occasion why I was an atheist but that’s a tale for another time.)

It’s an interesting question, because on the one hand as a Pagan I believe that my children must forge their own path in the world, and must determine for themselves what if any spiritual and religious beliefs they will hold. On the other hand though, they are growing up in a Pagan household where we speak openly of the Gods and Goddesses, and what we believe. Being Pagan is not a set of clothing that I put on and take off at will. It’s what and who I am. In the blood as thedruidbird stated in the comments section of I am a Pagan Woman.

We’ve created and cast spells with the boys, told stories of the assorted Gods. Have altars set up with statues of different Gods in the house. They know that two stones on the fireplace hearth provide homes for the house spirits. Both boys have at various times placed items on the family altar to be “made special”.

We’ve also talked to the boys about the different healing and working properties stones can have, done drumming work with them, and encouraged them in developing as energy healers – all 3 have natural talents in this regard. When the 2 younger are older, they will be encouraged to take part in formal rituals with us. Encouraged, but not required.

Yes, we are raising our children in our beliefs. We are also allowing them exposure to other belief systems. Only by knowing what their choices are, can our children make an informed choice when they are older.

5 thoughts on “F is for… Family Traditions

  1. I think it’s wonderful that you are starting a family tradition. Even if your children decide not to follow your path at a latter time, at least they will have an understanding of your beliefs and practices and of how much you live them. Huray for more family practices!

  2. I have three boys that I have tried to teach my path too since they were babies. They have picked it up and enjoy it. Though the middle son just keeps asking when he’s going to learn a spell to make him invisible. Poor thing.

    • Tell him that the trouble with invisibility spells is that people tend to walk into you or worse, drive into you if you’re in a car! Far better to do a spell to make people just not notice you as they move out of your way. I’ve done work like that before and it can be very effective.

  3. Thanks for writing this! I have two boys as well, and have struggled with raising boys in ‘Goddess tradition’ while still allowing them the freedom to choose their own paths. We’ve taken to similar practices. It’s refreshing to see that there are other Pagan parents out there doing similar things with their kids.

  4. This is wonderful! It’s so pleasing (to me) to see how Pagans (including all who commented above me) are putting such thought and care into including their children within their belief systems – not an easy task for sure considering there are really no guidelines to help along the way.

    Loved your response to the child above who keeps asking when he will get to do a spell to become invisible! Very creative.

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

