Black or White, It’s All Grey To Me

Are you a white witch or a black witch?

Yes.

 

I cannot begin to tell you the number of times I have been asked this very question over the years, nor can I begin to describe the variation of looks I get when I respond. I’ll let you in on a not very well kept secret, there is no such think as a white witch, or a black witch.

A variation on this question is the Land of Oz type question, “Are you a good witch or a bad witch?” To which the only logical response as to be “I’m a very good witch!”

These are terms invented to help the uninformed feel less fearful of something they don’t fully understand.

Witches are evil leads to white witches are good but black witches are evil. I’m here to tell you, there’s no such thing as either.

Witches stand in a balance between light and dark, between sunlight and shadow, knowing that both are necessary and needed. The person, witch or otherwise, who ventures too fully one direction or the other loses that balance.

This is why I cringe when I see someone getting all caught up in the ‘witches don’t do curses and all follow the Rede’ discussion. Yes, some witches do curses, and no not all witches follow the *Rede. It’s all to do with balance and necessity.

Do I do curses? Not very often, I can count on less than one hand the number of times I’ve actually done one. I sit down and think long and hard before taking that action. Is this a serious situation and is a curse the best course of action? Am I absolutely certain of the person/people involved? Is there another course of action I can take? Am I willing to accept the consequences that may result?

Most times, a less drastic course of action is more appropriate. Where some witches come into difficulty is when they can’t see the different courses of action available, when they lose their balance and begin to see everything in black, or white.

Do I follow the Rede? No, I’m not Wiccan. I do however believe in cause and effect, and that for every action there is a reaction (consequence). It’s up to me whether or not the consequence is worth the action.

I leave you with this thought:

You are just as blind in a room fully lit as you are in a room fully darkened.

 

*To learn more about the Wiccan Rede and its history, I recommend reading The Wiccan Rede: A Historical Journey by John Coughlin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Black or White, It’s All Grey To Me

  1. This is excellent. I remember meeting a man who called himself a white witch. He was a gay man who stated that every night at a certain hour, he would go to the Fens in Boston and summon Pan in his panic form to encourage the men to leave the area to avoid queer bashing. I often wonder what he really set in motion with this action.

  2. Pingback: Witch View | Writings of a Pagan Witch

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

