I am a Pagan Woman

Recently, a Canadian friend made a blog post about being a Muslim Woman.  She is high on my list of people I admire, and I wanted to create a similar post here, discussing what it means for me to be a Pagan woman.

I have identified as a Pagan since I was about 26 years old, for those who want to know that’s 20 years. It was the culmination of several years of searching and thinking about who I was and what I believed. It wasn’t a matter of waking up one day and thinking “I want to be a Pagan”.

No, I developed my beliefs, and in the midst of searching realised that it was Paganism.

I sometimes meet up with people who think I must have been rebelling against my parents or society; or, that I got caught up in a Sabrina, Buffy, Twilight induced fad.

The answer to both of those ideas is “No.”

Over the past 20 years my own beliefs have continued to change and develop. My original practice was as a solitary Wiccan, then in 1993 I became part of a Wiccan coven. I was part of that group for 5 years and during that time was initiated first as a Priestess and before leaving as a High Priestess.

My own solitary practice though has moved away from the religious tenets of Wicca towards a broader Paganism. I don’t consider myself to be Wiccan any longer, but I still do magical work and spellcasting and so call myself a witch.

So there you have it. I’m not into the whole Pagan and witch thing because it’s a fad, or I wanted to shock society. It’s who I am at a core level.

 

7 thoughts on “I am a Pagan Woman

  1. I completely agree with this! Especially the part about Paganism being part of your core self, I always describe it by saying that it’s in my blood- it’s not a part of me, it IS me 🙂

  2. Pingback: F is for… Family Traditions | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  3. It’s amazing to me how many people blindly follow the religion of their parents – or claim it without even knowing what that religion is really about – and yet assume that Pagans are as they are because they have been influenced by television. Thanks for sharing this!

  4. Pingback: Creating a Pagan Social Identity | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  5. Pingback: Witch View | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  6. Pingback: My Pagan History | Writings of a Pagan Witch

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

