Amulet of the Day: Owl

Owl: Wisdom of the Darkness

owlThe owl was sacred to Athena, Lilith, Blodeuwedd, and other Moon Goddesses. It is a familiar of witches. A traditional symbol of wisdom.

This amulet image comes from a bird mask carved on the lid of a Neolithic water vessel (late 6th millennium BCE). The mouth served as a spout.

The Owl comes to lead you through the darkness. When your way is unclear, she will teach you to see and hear with your psychic senses.

The owl tells you that it is okay to say “I don’t know.”  It is okay to delay decisions until you have gathered all the information you need. “I don’t feel comfortable with what you’ve suggested. I want to think about it and I will get back to you.” Trust your intuition and those inner “vibes”.

See through situations and people to what lies beneath. Get to the truth.

Find a balance between intellect and emotion to clarify a situation.

4 thoughts on “Amulet of the Day: Owl

  1. Pingback: Oracle Readings Using Amulets of the Goddess | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  2. Pingback: Amulet Readings for 2014 | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  3. I am so glad I found this online. I have used a few different forms of divination and guidance as you mentioned and also feel most comfortable with this form. I have used these for many years now. I recently made a huge move and change in my life. When i finally was able to find these again after the move i was distraught because the accompanying book was in bad shape. I had to keep my books stored in a friend’s garage during my transition and unfortunately some of my books suffered damage. I decided to look this up online and am pleased that i can reference the amulets here. Thank you. Many blessings.

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

